congress US capitolWashington, DC — Iowa’s congressional delegation has officially shrunk from seven to six.

The people who were elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in November began their two-year terms this past week. Last year Iowa had five men representing the state in the U.S. House, but today there are just four — Bruce Braley, Dave Loebsack, Tom Latham and the Congressman from our area — Steve King. Iowa lost a seat in the House, due to the redistricting that occurred after the 2010 Census.

The other two members of Iowa’s congressional delegation — U.S. Senators Chuck Grassley and Tom Harkin — were not on the ballot in November, but due to changes in Senate membership, no other state has more seniority power. Grassley, first elected in 1980, ranks sixth in seniority. Harkin, first elected to the senate in 1984, will rank seventh after Massachusetts Senator John Kerry resigns to become President Obama’s Secretary of State.

By the way, Iowa’s six-member congressional delegation now is split right down the middle, with three Republicans and three Democrats.

Story from RadioIowa.

This entry was posted on Monday, January 7th, 2013 at 10:43 am and is filed under News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.